The Mompreneur

July 17, 2008 at 3:40 am 4 comments

A Mompreneur.

Am I one?

I guess so.

I hate that term. It has a hint of condescension that irritates me to no end. Athough, I must admit, I’m a HUGE fan of The Mompreneur magazine and read it religiously. It’s a great resource for any woman in business.

I am a business woman. One that happens to have a child. I’ve wanted my own business since before I can remember. The term “Mompreneur” indicates to me that I need my own catergory. I’d love to see someone call Donald Trump a “Dadpreneur”. That would make for an interesting episode of The Apprentice.

I guess the term just has that little “pat on the head” component to it. Like someone saying “Oh, aren’t you a cute little mom trying to start a business from her basement. Isn’t that sweet?”. Like we have no right to be here.

And I do. I have paid my dues like everyone else and I deserve the right to call myself an Entrepreneur. I’ve sacrificed and taken the same risks as everyone else. No one has given me a free ride because I am a mom.

Granted, there are some differences being in business as a mother. I often indulge my son with things I never would have had I not had to be on the phone with a potential client or my accountant. Yes, Jack has had quite a few lollipops in a row and watched far too much TV due to business calls. My house is usually in some state of disarray and I ignore my husband in the evening to reply to pressing emails.

I don’t really have a schedule. My life revolves around my business and my family and whatever is the most urgent gets my attention, and sometimes what gets it is not what should. I continually feel like I’m walking a tightrope, trying to do everything yet doing nothing the best that I could.

It’s all about picking my battles, and at the end of the day, even with household tasks not completed, and vendors unanswered, I know I’ve done my best, and I find a way to let it go.

All that aside, I AM a business woman. One who, along with purchase orders, business cards and tax forms in my briefcase also has the odd crayon and toy truck floating around in there. Oh and Tootsie rolls, cause they’re just good in every situation.

I can still be firece,  granted I’m a little softer around the edges, both physically and mentally, since having my wee one. And I think that’s a good thing. I still look fabulous in a business suit.  Although, if while walking downtown, in stilettos, with my typical confident swagger you happen to see a cheerio or goldfish cracker stuck to my butt, so be it.

I’m a Mompreneur.

Entry filed under: Blog, Blogroll, Bra Fitting, Bras, breast health, Breastfeeding, honey milk designs, Honeymilk designs, Milk and Honey Designs, Milk and Honey Designs Blog, nursing bra, nursing bras, Uncategorized.

The Women in my Life The Bra-fitter takes a Vacation

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carol  |  July 19, 2008 at 2:39 am

    yes, you are a business woman, a true entrepreneur – please don’t think my post on your facebook wall as a “pat on the head” because I wouldn’t do that – I KNOW what it takes to run a business from home with a little one – and there aren’t too many dads that manage that!! You go, girl! xo Carol

    Reply
  • 2. milkandhoneydesigns  |  July 21, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Not at all! Like I said, I love The Mompreneur magazine and moms are such a great support network. I was meaning more comments from lenders and businessmen already established in the field. No offense taken:)

    Thanks for the encouragement and link!

    Reply
  • 3. gandcdotcom  |  August 9, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Great post! I’m not a mom yet, but I do get a lot of good info from “Mompreneurs”. The point about the fact that fathers don’t have an equal titile is interesting…

    Reply
  • 4. gandcdotcom  |  August 9, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Doh! I misspelled “title”! Its 1:23AM so I have a good excuse. 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 26,557 Visitors